Grading Policy

2022-2023 Grading Policy Overview

PS 86 Guiding Principles for the 2022-2023 School Year:

Students’ grades are evaluative and descriptive tools that help communicate what they have learned. Grades provide students with an understanding of and progression through an instructional content area. Grades are shared and interpreted among families, teachers, administrators and other stakeholders. Grades are awarded in a consistent, equitable, objective, and transparent fashion aimed at serving the following purposes:
● Demonstrate a student’s level of understanding and skills in an instructional content area, at a specific point in time
● Reveal areas of improvement and instructional content areas still in need of support
● Inform teachers’ curricular, instructional, and organizational decisions
● Identify students who need more assistance or differentiated learning
● Influence promotion decisions and the middle school admissions process

Grading Scales (MP1, MP2, MP3)

Performance Levels:

  • 4- Excels in Standards; Exceeds Grade Level Expectations
  • 3- Proficient; Meets Grade Level Expectations
  • 2- Below Standards
  • 1- Well Below Standards


  • E-U Scale for Personal & Academic Scoring Indicators
    • E-Excellent
    • G-Good
    • S-Satisfactory
    • N-Needs Improvement
    • U-Unsatisfactory

*“NL” must be used in cases where there is insufficient information to determine whether a student has met standards due to the student enrolling in a course after it has started. New or recently admitted students may have missed assignments or assessments needed to generate a complete course grade for a given marking period and thus should receive an "NL" score.

Performance Levels Percentage
4 - Excels in Standards 92-100%
3 - Proficient 80-91%
2 - Below Standards 65-79%
1 - Well Below Standards 0-64%

General Information

Instructional Content Areas
P.S. 86x follows The New York State Next Generation English Language Art and Mathematics Learning Standards approved by the State Board of Education. Students are required to demonstrate the knowledge and skills necessary to read, write, compute, problem solve, think critically, apply technology, and communicate across all subject areas.